Marist Auckland Water Polo




Marist Auckland Water Polo was founded in 1988 in the bar of the Marist Rugby Club in Ellerslie. It started with just under 28 members – all male. It won its first National Championship Medal when its young men’s side captured bronze at the 1990 Senior Club Championships. Since then the club has expanded to include both genders and now has the largest membership total of all Clubs in New Zealand


During the 2005-06 season it was the most successful Club in New Zealand winning 4 out of 10 National Titles plus both Senior Men’s and Women’s National Leagues. At the 2004 International Pan Pacific Water Polo festival the Club won the Womens U18 title and 5 other medals across the 8 age groups.


Marist first won the coveted Ryan Cup – the NZ Men’s Championship in 1993 and added three more titles since, the latest in 2000. Since the introduction of female programmes in the mid 1990’s, the Club has dominated National age group female competition. At the 2007 National Championships the Senior Women defended their title from the year before adding their overall 6th National title on the belt.


The Club initially trained where it could – Panmure, Hamilton, Tepid Baths. In 1990 it based itself at Waitakere but with the opening of the new Sacred Heart College Aquatic Centre in 2000 the Club entered into a lease arrangement with Sacred Heart College and later Epsom Girls Grammar for their pool facilities.

Upcoming Events

Follow US